Bats, batsman, batting

Folks keep coming over to read this on a regular basis. They come here because they’re searching for the answer to the question:
“Can I use mustard oil to season a cricket bat”. The answer is very simple. Please, do yourself a favour and don’t even think about it. Your bat will thank you.
This is a personal recollection of my career, a very poor career, as an amateur cricketer. I hope this helps.
There are other things to read such as some groundbreaking, earth shattering ways to improve cricket. Check the “Opinions” option in the menu at left.
Thank you.

Leggie Lefty

image: http://www.etsy.com/listing/127320996/vintage-cricket-bat-made-by-gunn-and

My two older, much, much older, brothers were already established stars in school cricket when I got my first cricket bat. A Gunn and Moore Nonjar, size 3, I believe. I was about 4 years old. And they took ownership of the seasoning process the minute it came home. Lacking the approved linseed oil as well as patience, they seized upon mustard oil, easily available from the kitchen as the means to

View original post 699 more words

Comments are free and much appreciated.

